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CODEX: CHAOS SPACE MARINES
VERSION 1.3

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present 
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often these 
amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or community 
feedback. At other times, these amendments are errata designed to 
correct mistakes or add clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might 
be. New or revised text is presented in red, with a text highlight applied 
to revisions made previously (excluding passages that were added or 
replaced in full).

UPDATES & ERRATA
Cabal of Chaos Detachment, Touched by the Warp Enhancement
Change to:
‘Heretic Astartes model only (excluding Khorne models). The bearer 
gains the Psyker keyword.’

Page 86 – Eager For Vengeance Enhancement 
Change to: 
‘Heretic Astartes model only (excluding Damned models). The 
bearer’s unit is eligible to shoot and declare a charge in a turn in which 
it Fell Back. Each time a model in the bearer’s unit makes an attack 
that targets your focus of hatred, if the bearer’s unit Fell Back this turn, 
add 1 to the Hit roll, and each time you select your focus of hatred as a 
target of that unit’s charge, add 1 to the Charge roll.’

Page 88 – Falsehood Enhancement, third sentence 
Change to: 
‘If you do, in the Reinforcements step of one of your Movement 
phases, you can select one model in a friendly Legionaries or Chosen 
unit that has two or more models remaining and is on the battlefield 
(excluding Attached units).’

Page 96 – Marks of Chaos Detachment Rule, Restrictions Section 
Add an additional bullet point: 
‘• �A unit can only embark within (or start the battle embarked within) a 

Transport if both of those units share the same keyword from the 
list above.’

Page 98 – Chaos Cult Detachment, Restrictions	  
Change to: 
‘Traitor Guardsmen Squad units from your army gain the 
Battleline keyword.’

Page 98 – Warped Foresight Enhancement 
Change to: 
‘Dark Apostle or Damned model only. While the bearer is leading a 
unit with the Scouts 6" ability, every model in the bearer’s unit has the 
Scouts 6" ability.’

Page 101 – Unstoppable Rampage Stratagem, Target section 
Change to: 
‘TARGET: One Heretic Astartes Vehicle or Vashtorr the Arkifane 
unit from your army that has not been selected to move or charge 
this phase.’

Page 101 – Predatory Pursuit Stratagem, Target section 
Change to: 
‘TARGET: One Heretic Astartes Vehicle or Vashtorr the Arkifane 
unit from your army that is within 9" of that enemy unit and not within 
Engagement Range of one or more enemy units.’

Page 101 – Feeding Frenzy Stratagem, Target section 
Change to: 
‘TARGET: One Heretic Astartes Daemon Vehicle or Vashtorr the 
Arkifane unit from your army that is within Engagement Range of that 
enemy unit.’

Page 106 – Abaddon, Dark Destiny 
Change to: 
‘Dark Destiny: Each time this model’s unit makes a Dark Pact and does 
not fail the resulting Leadership test, if the result of that test was 7+, 
you gain 1CP.’

Page 108 – Cypher, Agent of Discord ability 
Change to:
‘Agent of Discord (Aura): Each time your opponent targets a unit from 
their army with a Stratagem, if that unit is within 12" of this model, 
increase the cost of that use of that Stratagem by 1CP (this is not 
cumulative with any other rules that would increase the CP cost of 
that Stratagem).’ 

Page 109 – Fabius Bile, Chirurgeon ability 
Change to: 
‘Chirurgeon: The first time this unit’s Fabius Bile model is destroyed, 
at the end of the phase, roll one D6: on a 2+, set it back up on the 
battlefield, as close as possible to where it was destroyed and 
not within Engagement Range of any enemy models, with its full 
wounds remaining.’

Page 111 – Chaos Lord in Terminator Armour, Keywords section 
Add ‘Chaos Lord’.

Page 132 – Obliterators, Warp Rift Firepower ability 
Change to: 
‘Warp Rift Firepower: Once per battle, during the shooting 
phase, this unit can use this ability. If it does, until the end of the 
phase, ranged weapons equipped by models in this unit have the 
[INDIRECT FIRE] ability. 
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Page 135 – Chaos Rhino, Wargear Options 
Change the second bullet point to: 
‘• �This model can be equipped with 1 havoc launcher or can replace 1 

combi-bolter with 1 havoc launcher.’

Page 138 – Chaos Predator Destructor, Melee Weapons table, 
armoured tracks 
Change Weapon Skill characteristic to ‘4+’.

FAQS
Q: If I use the Cults of the Dark Gods rule to add Plague Marines to my 
Chaos Space Marines army, does the Plague Marines’ Infused with the 
Blessings of Nurgle ability have any effect?
A: No.

Q: If I am using the Deceptors Detachment, when I use the Scrambled 
Coordinates Stratagem, can my opponent sequence one or more of 
their ‘end of your Movement phase’ abilities (e.g. Da Jump) to happen 
after that Stratagem’s effect ends?
A: Yes.

Q: When using the Soul Link Enhancement, can the bearer use a 
datasheet ability it gains as a result even if that ability has already 
been used by another Character model as many times as its 
restrictions allow (e.g. ‘once per battle’, ‘once per phase’)? 
A: Yes.

Q: When using the Soul Link Enhancement, can I select a Character 
model from my army that is not on the battlefield (excluding 
Character models embarked within a Transport)? 
A: Yes.

Q: Can my Character with the Soul Link Enhancement use that 
Enhancement while it is in Reserves/Strategic Reserves?
A: Yes.

Q: When replacing the datasheet abilities of the bearer of the Soul Link 
Enhancement with those of the selected Character model, does this 
include Core and Faction abilities?
A: Yes.

Q: When replacing the datasheet abilities of the bearer of the Soul Link 
Enhancement with those of the selected Character model, does this 
include which units the bearer can be attached to?
A: No.

Q: If I am using the Veterans of the Long War Detachment and I select 
an Attached unit to be my focus of hatred, if that unit splits for any 
reason, are each of the resulting units my focus of hatred until the start 
of my next Command phase?
A: Yes.

Q: If I am using the Veterans of the Long War Detachment, can I select a 
unit embarked within a Transport to be my focus of hatred?
A: No.

Q: For the Opportunistic Raiders Stratagem, is a unit that did not fight 
this phase an eligible target for that Stratagem, provided it was eligible 
to fight at one point during the phase?
A: Yes.

Q: While using the Balance Dataslate, can I use the Opportunistic 

Raiders Stratagem to Fall Back with a unit of Warp Talons, then use that 
unit’s Warp Strike ability to place it into Strategic Reserves?
A: If that Warp Talons unit destroyed one or more units this phase, yes 
otherwise, no.

Q: While using the Balance Dataslate, for the Warp Talons’ Warp Strike 
ability, is a unit that did not fight this phase eligible to use that ability, 
provided it was eligible to fight at one point during the phase?
A: No.

Q: When is the model destroyed by the Traitor Enforcer’s Brutal Example 
ability removed?
A: Before resolving the Fire Overwatch Stratagem with that unit.

Q: When is Fabius Bile’s Chirurgeon ability resolved?
A: After the attack (or other effect) that destroyed the Fabius Bile 
model has been resolved. In the event that he is returned to the 
battlefield while there are still attacks to be resolved against his unit, 
those attacks can still be resolved.

Q: When I target a unit with the Fire Overwatch Stratagem, can that unit 
make a Dark Pact?
A: Yes, as the unit is selected to shoot.

Q: When a model ‘fights on death’, can that model’s unit make a 
Dark Pact?
A: No, as the unit is not selected to fight.

Q: Can I select a unit to shoot when there are no eligible targets so that 
unit can make a Dark Pact?
A: No.
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